jump to navigation

Being a Generalist July 16, 2010

Posted by frostwolftfirerose in Civilization Anonymous, Cultural Janitorial Detail, Personal Journey.
trackback

Many years ago, when I was relatively new to working an 8-hour/day job, I took a training at the central facility for the company I worked for at the time (at the worst job I’ve ever held), and I was in a group with a couple of older employees.  I was in my mid-20s, and I was pretty much a newbie in more ways than one.  At the time I had such a feeling of entitlement, and I was contemptuous of the manner in which I was having to conduct my life.  “Couldn’t people see my Genius?” yada-yada-tiresome-yada.

Well, one of these older employees said something that I knew I had to file in the back of my mind, but I didn’t realize what the gem of it was.  She said “I have come to realize that I am a generalist, and that there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.”  Instinctively, I knew what she meant.  It’s taken a good almost 20 years though to realize that statement also applied to me.

I would love to be a world-famous playwright/screenwriter/novelist, etc.  But it’s not a single-minded focus as it has been for others.  I’ve tried it, but I just don’t have that thing, that propulsive and explosive desire that thrusts me into the forefront.  I love, love, love to write.  I do.  But I love other things as much, and perhaps even more.  I love to feel like I’m adding to a better way of living.  I love being able to spend long hours in nature.  I love cooking healthy food.  Love to make love with my partner.  Gardening.  Playing scrabble, learning a new language.  Meeting an interesting, kind person.  Awakening to everyday beauty, and putting it into a poem or a blog post.  Doing magic, talking with the Gods and angels and other entities.  Life holds such deliciousness.

So how can I not be a generalist, really?  And so I work as a legal assistant in a dying empire, and eagerly anticipate such an occasion.  When civilization gives up its clutch on the throttle and culture returns to the fore, as it does again and again.  For me, a revolution has already happened.  I’m holding space for y’all out there who awaken to the true nature of things and understand that it’s a grand thing that all this can’t last.  That something more appropriate and life-sustaining will necessarily explode onto the scene and push away the ineffective and the obstructive.   The mindlessly destructive and obstinately and militantly ign’ant.  (Perhaps they’ll be “raptured” into Estupo-world?) 

Quite a bit that isn’t working in my life isn’t meant to.  They are meant to say “Uh, no, Richard.  Not this way, find another path.”  So I end up at some point, releasing those struggles, even though it means others become alienated.  That’s their issue.  My own resentments are my own bugaboos, and I won’t take anyone else’s on. 

Today I embrace that generalist attidude that welcomes and embraces–that’s the descriptivist inside me.  I want all the flavors.

Comments»

1. d.bella - July 16, 2010

Love it, yes!


Leave a Reply

