jump to navigation

2012: Time for Change Preview/Panel Discussion in NYC last night July 9, 2010

Posted by frostwolftfirerose in Civilization Anonymous, Cultural Janitorial Detail, Poem-A-Day.
trackback

I got off the Megabus and beelined for Boston Market for a cheap dinner.  I had time to kill, so I walked over to 6th Avenue, thinking I’d go to the B&N that was on 6th and 22nd. 

Well, it’s GONE!  To become Trader Joe’s on Monday.  Hmph.

Anyway, I did go to the Union Square one, then booked over to SVA to get in line.  Ran into some old buddies from a 12-step fellowship in line, and sat with them.

Watched the film, and I must say I enjoyed much of it.  Reminded me a lot of What a Way to Go: Life at the End of Empire by Tim & Sally Erickson, due to the whole thing being a personal journey sort of narrative.  Daniel Pinchbeck tells his story, and features his one stint on Colbert, which was hilarious I must say, even if it mocked the 2012 people.

I personally believe as one of the interviewees does, that 2012 is but a signpost.  Whether we as a species live or die at that time isn’t really the issue, it’s what we do in the lead-up.  Do we finally surrender and discover the right use of our wills?  Or do we keep on doing the insane things of demanding our world be a certain way and getting more and more shrill and violent when things go the way they go?

The film did give some focus to the 2012 doom crowd.  (I like to use the word “Doom” ironically, because I wish for the civilization’s doom, but so the human race might survive the onslaught a-coming.)  Pretty much everyone interviewed remarked that the choice is up to each individual, and it will pretty much go with how they view it. 

The panel discussion afterward featured Sting and Pinchbeck of course, as well as a native guy T. Ghosthorse (I didn’t get his first name, alas), Paul Stamets, a yoga expert named Ganga, and the film’s director Joao Amorim.  Interviewees included Penny Livingston of permaculture fame, Gilberto Gil, David Lynch, Ellen Page (!), Dean Radin, Dennis McKenna, Barbara Marx Hubbard, and others. 

One thing I need to remark on, a personal sense of judgment I felt.  I decided just to wear a polo shirt and shorts to the event.  Some people were dressed for work–they’d obviously knocked off for the day.  Some were people who were “walking their talk,” and they were dressed “weird,” but that was who they were.  But I noticed a lot of people really dressed up and a few who were trying a bit too hard to fit in.  I felt pain around these sorts of people, because it reminded me of the bar scene.

Ew.

Anyway, the really interesting thing was that the most questions went to Mr. Stamets, who brought a bunch of kits to grow one’s own trees in cardboard boxes.  It sounded quite interesting and cool to try and do, but it was only for those in NYC.  (Not that I was interested in that–we’ve got lots o’ trees up north, molto grazie.)  He also brought a bag of mycellium and straw which he explained was for the Gulf of Mexico, to help transform the oil there.  That was one of the fascinating parts of the movie, mycoremediation. 

(Since my last name is Morell, I have a little bit of a soft spot in my heart for die shroombahs! Richard means stern king, so I could be the Stern ‘Shroom King, n’est-ce pas?)

Sting got a couple of questions.  He talked of his ayahuasca experience.  Something I didn’t know about these drugs used in African/South American rituals, is that with supervision, they can help with depression and addiction, among other things.  Part of me longs to have an ayahuasca experience, but I won’t.  Still, in light of my previous blog postings about grief vs. depression, it’s something I’m pondering.

It gets to be a bit frustrating in the Q&A’s to hear people asking “why didn’t you include this?”  Well, editorial choice is up to the director.  There’s all sorts of things the film raised that could make their own interesting films.  (The creation of a green roof for example.)

I stayed around until it was time for me to walk up to Penn Station.  I was glad to have gone, and I wonder what more will come from it.  Perhaps some of this will finally spread up into the Capital Region.

For me the most memorable line of the night:  Mr. Ghosthorse said “I don’t know about you, but I’m really looking forward to the days after America.  It hasn’t been so good for us.”  (Mr. Ghosthorse is a Lakota elder with a show on WBAI.)  He invited people to come to their ceremonies.

I
really
want
to
take
him
up
on
that.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

