jump to navigation

Um … ew? August 11, 2009

Posted by frostwolftfirerose in Capital Region Notions, Personal Journey.
Tags: ,
trackback

Today I’m reminded of my connection to Mother Earth in an unusual manner.  I “got a whiff of myself” as it were.  After placing a medicated pad thither, I sniffed my hand to see if it had only the witch hazel smell on it.  Well, no, actually.

But what was sort of interesting was that, perhaps due to the medication, the smell wasn’t as unpleasant as I thought it would be.  It could also be because I’ve become more in tune with the dirt and with the necessary materials to grow a decent backyard garden.  The smells of turdikins doesn’t bother me nearly as much as it used to.  This time around, it actually reminded me of perfume, though it smelled somewhat “better” than some perfumes that, to coin a phrase, really smell like crap.

So it was a somewhat unexpected reminder of my own personal sacredness, as not only a creature with some sentience and sensitivity, but also bodily functions.  From both the earth and the stars, both stellar-sourced and tellurian-constructed.

Interesting to have these revelations as I had to attend a viewing of someone I knew who passed away rather suddenly over the last week.  I’ve only seen one cadaver before this–my grandmother.  It was odd to see the body of someone I knew in my everyday life laying there ashen and lifeless.  There was a slideshow of various photos of him, many of which were from the past shows he had been part of.  I saw my own picture up there when Paul and I acted together in Beyond Therapy last year.  I feel a sadness and a loss, but I hope he’s in a better place.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

