jump to navigation

Obama-Gorbachev Revisited July 20, 2009

Posted by frostwolftfirerose in Civilization Anonymous.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Several months ago, I made a post about the possibility that BHO might be our Gorby, if for no other reason than just as the default governor who presided over the dissolution of a soon-to-be former empire.  So it’s, what, 6 or 7 months later. 

How’s this panning out?

So far, I don’t see much in the way of signal language that would suggest BHO is seeing the reality of what everyday people are undergoing.  In reading Joe Bageant’s latest, about a growing Caucasian underclass (why use the sad word “white” in this context?), I was struck by his observation that he was berated for relating “anecdotal” evidence as if only statistics (damn lies to the gazillionth power) would only be acceptable.  “Sister, we only live lives that are anecdotal!”–great retort there.  Couldn’t have said it better myself.

For some reason, I keep thinking of a movie I’ve never seen.  “Ridicule” is a French film that won the Academy Award in the late 80s or early 90s I believe.  It was about an upper middle class fellow who goes off to Versailles and learns about the games politicos play, and gets swept up in the image and leaves behind the substance.  In playing the game of Ridicule for awhile, he is successful at winning status and rewards for his province.  But after a time the game itself hooks him and it becomes addictive.  He wins these games, but loses the respect of the people who sent him thither.

I’m not necessarily saying this is true of BHO–how would I know?  I’m just reporting about the resonance of the current moment, and it feels quite pre-Bastille Day-Revolutionary.  Some sort of rupture is about to take place.  Some sort of rude intrusion of real lives being lived out amidst debris and desolation will be poking through and saying “Remember me?”  Again, Bageant’s trenchant insight that the white underclass gets swept under the rug because white middle class people are terrified of joining their ranks rings horribly true.

(White-on-white crime–the new rage? In more ways than one?)

I’m heartened too, however, to see there are channels noting that the dark ones’ powers are shrinking.  More light is being shed on the so-called swine flu vaccine.  I have the sense that these dark ones have already lost the game, and that this is a pathetic attempt to force some “solution” that won’t solve anything, and will make their own prospects all the more dire.  (Again, this is my own speculation and intuition adding into the mix.  I’m no expert, and I would eschew the title anyway.)

So, I’m in the wait-and-see camp, but leaning to signs pointing to “no” that BHO is M.G. USA style.  He certainly has the brains, but I don’t know if he has the grit or the worldview that would allow in a non-blinkered reality.  I also don’t know if, given that someone rips off the rose-colored glasses, he would attempt to go on as if the mauve-drenched viewpoint was still operative.  He seems to be listening to “The People” (bwahahaha) about health care.  But I keep thinking he’s looking for a way to spin it for his corp(se)orate benefactors de la vEmpire/necreconomy.

 I still think that the USA is on its way to being FUSA (in more ways than one), but the timing is unpredictable.  And how it will unfold, which regions will sink into chaos, which will do all right for themselves, I have no idea.  I feel intuitively that I’m in the right place up here in the Albany-Schenectady-Troy area.  I don’t know the exact thought behind my various guides’ pointing me to purchasing the building I inhabit at this time, though I appreciate the sense that it’s about making a commitment to the region.  I do love it here, as I’ve said many times.  And I look forward to some future time where the region flourishes in whatever way it’s supposed to.  I look forward to the day that a Schenecta (Skanekta?) exists.  (I hope one of these days to fleh that out.)

In the present moment, I feel grateful.  But as to the question of Obama being our Gorbachev, I have no answer.  More will be revealed, and as that comes out, more will be required.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

