jump to navigation

Overpopulation? April 21, 2009

Posted by frostwolftfirerose in Civilization Anonymous, Mystical, Personal Journey.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I’m not really sure where I’m going with this, but it’s all meant to be dialogue, right?  I’m in the middle of Paul Pearsall’s last book, Awe: The Eleventh Emotion and I’m rather intrigued by it.  He did a Study of the Awe-Inspired (SAI) to examine what goes on with this quite subjective experience.  I find it refreshing that he incorporates the observations of Richard Dawkins, who I feel has become too much of a knee-jerk atheist, but who nonetheless can’t escape awe either.

In the middle of the book there’s a discussion of Francis Crick, one of the discoverers of DNA, and his wish that consciousness would merit deeper scientific study.  His own theory was that it could be explained scientifically at some point.  I’m dubious about that prospect, preferring mystery and acceptance to guide my own path, but in this discussion there was the observation that our consciousness takes place in a context of literally trillions of transactions being made by a hundred billion cells of 100 different types.

For some reason that made me think of the 6+ Billion people on this planet, and whether or not we are somehow a manifestation of Gaian-organism consciousness, that we are somehow all these interpersonal and communal neuronal/axial combinations  on top of n/a combinations on top of other combinations yet.  And that as some mystics believe, for the evolution of our planet and species, that we are ALL necessary even though some of us are plainly psychopathic and believe that they should have the power to decide who lives and dies. 

It made me feel awe actually, to wonder if this was true.  It seems to be a theme of my day about making space for those who disagree with me.  Even those who seem to desire my death, though I recognize that in many instances that would be their death as well.  (I do have a lot of gifts after all.)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

