jump to navigation

Post #1: Why Stop There? April 17, 2009

Posted by frostwolftfirerose in Capital Region Notions, Civilization Anonymous.
trackback

I was casting about for a post today, and this afternoon two posts emerged in my head.  Here’s the first one.

Over at AmericaBlog–which is a site that is starting to wear thin on me in its reflexive head-centered, center/-left dogmatism–someone started a rather snarky post about the devilish Tom Delay’s proposal to divide Tejas en cinco estados, asi que los Estados Unidos sacara’ Tejas afuera del union.  Well.  My thought was why stop there?  Let’s continue dividing and dividing into more rational subdivisions based on units of oh, say, 20,000.

It’s ridiculous to me that here in Albany-Troy-Schenectady, I have a lot more in common with the residents of the Berkshires and of Vermont, but that I am in a government-structure that includes New York City, Long Island, Rochester, Syracuse, Binghamton and Buffalo.  Within the Capital Region, there are pockets I also have issues with, which is why I think the 150,000 mark may not be such a bad thing. 

I think I’m a couple years–well, the way things are accelerating, maybe only a few to several months–ahead of the game, here.  But really the idea that the states we have should accommodate the populations they contain is really a recipe for dissatsfaction of the highest order.  And it’s about to devolve into real ugliness.

My thought is of course, why stop with just Texas?  And for that matter, Lone Star Untied States, why stop at merely 5?  Why not, oh, 5,000? 

And with California, h0w does 10,000 sound?

And with New York City, how does 400 sound? One governmental group for every 20,00 people?  Sounds good to me.

Albany could be 5 states by itself, and Troy could split into its Blue State-Red State self.  Though Little Italy straddles that divide I think.  But I could be wrong.

My intuition?  Says that we won’t have to do much.  The talk of secession serves a different spiritual purpose in my eyes.  It’s interesting to me that the people who would hold me and others like me up as the jehovahsatan to their extraextrasatanjehovahsatan should have a notion similar to what I’ve been wishing for myself.  As much as I enjoy the fact that there are people like me the world over, I long for community right near my home.  This of course flies in the face of the lords of the flies who wish to be the turdblossoms at the center of the universe.  (Or rather “antiverse,” and I mean that as also “anti-song” as well as any other way that might be taken.)  Hell-Central Control doesn’t like individual agency much–it seems too much like true godliness.  Which, in fact, it actually is.

Who is this flower above MY head?  What is the  Work of THIS GOD? I WOULD know MYSELF in all MY parts, after all.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

