jump to navigation

a minor shock… November 24, 2008

Posted by frostwolftfirerose in Capital Region Notions, Mystical.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Over this wonderfully successful weekend with the theater’s Pop-Up Plays and New Play Fest (yea everyone who acted, wrote and attended!), I had an unexpected spirit encounter with the spirit of the City of Schenectady.

On Saturday night, between “Communion on the 97th Floor” and “Mother Explains” I sat at a table at Katie O’Byrne’s and gazed into the sunset.  It was a luminous evening shaping up, on the night of the pre-Thanksgiving Christmas parade (??), though also a cold night to be sure.  I was just drinking in the delightfulness of the evening, when I pondered the spirit of the place, and BOING!  There she was.

I don’t actually “see” the spirits in the visual sense.  A thought form emerges in my head, and Schenectady herself seemed to have a careworn quality to her, though resilient and resolved as well.  She seemed to have elegant blond hair, and perhaps it was just because I was at Katie O’Byrn’e’s but she also seemed to be clad in Celtic garb, though the garb itself seemed a mite shabby.  She told me that I had a stake in her progress and that the ease with which things had been happening for my group in the town was not at all an accident. 

Schenectady wants … well, she wants ME to be more involved somehow, and I have no idea where this will go.  Years ago, I had a vision of my “home” community and it was in a place called either “Skanekta” or perhaps “Schenecta”.  (Without the -dy.)  Unlike the present iteration of this place, in that version, I could walk around skyclad if I chose and no one would bat an eye.  I know Schenectady was the only site where there was a police intervention in the staging of The Full Monty in its B’way tour.  For pity’s sakes!

But her revealing herself to me suggests that there is some chthonic undercurrent to the place and that I have had some small impact on it, though one that might be resonating outward.  I was amazed at the eagerness that the people at Art Night Schenctady and Proctors seemed to relish our participation with our anarchic contributions, and I myself had a goofy grin pasted on my face all Friday night. 

I also need to say that we have some talented writers here in the Hudson-Mohawk region and I was proud to have brought these 3 writers to readings in the Proctors complex to present their visions for the stage. 

I feel that some potent magick radiated outward from all these works being presented, and I look forward to seeing what sorts of pathways they open up in the future.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

